Nigeria Professional Football League teams have voted for the 2019/2020 season to be ended.

In a voting process that took place yesterday, seventeen teams voted for the conclusion of the season using the points per game method (PPG) to determine teams final position on the log albeit with no relegation to the second tier of Nigerian football league.

Two teams however refused to vote namely Lobi Stars of Makurdi and Akwa United while Rangers voted for a Super 6 play-offs to determine the teams to represent Nigeria in Confrederation of African Football (CAF) club competitions. Top three teams in the league are liable to represent Nigeria on the continent, according to the PPG method, Plateau United, Enyimba and Rivers United are the three teams that qualifies.

Plateau United and Enyimba qualifies for the CAF Champions League while Rivers United will participate in the CAF Confederation Cup.
Nigeria has one slot yet for the Confederation Cup which is usually the winner of the AITEO/Federation Cup but it is yet to be seen how that will be determined.
Kano Pillars are the current champion of AITEO Cup having won it in 2018/2019 season.

The points per game system was one of the projected options that has been proposed by the League Management Company (LMC) and the twenty teams to conclude the league that has been on break since March because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The “Super 6” was also another option suggested to determine teams to represent Nigeria on the continent. This will be a competition among the first 6 teams on the table at a neutral venue.

With the lastest development coming from the Presidency via the chairman of the Presidential Task Force on Covid-19 and secretary to the federal government, Boss Mustapha, saying “sporting activities cannot resume in the nation for now”, it was just logical that the club chairmen voted to end the season yesterday.

The points per game system was used in France to judge the Ligue 1 2019/2020 season though three teams Olympique Lyon, Amiens and Toulouse dragged the LFP to National Court proclaiming unfairness. Amiens and Toulouse who were previously relegated were however reinstated back to the top division by the court.

English Football League (EFL) One and Two also used the PPG method to conclude its season with no controversy heard yet.

The 17 clubs that took part in the voting process yesterday are Kwara United FC, Kano Pillars FC, Katsina United FC, Jigawa Golden Stars FC, Adamawa United FC, Wikki Tourist FC, Mountain of Fire Ministries FC, Sunshine Stars FC, Enyimba FC, Warri Wolves FC, Abia Warriors FC, Nasarawa United FC, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, Dakada International FC, Heartland FC, Rivers United FC and Plateau United FC.

Will the NPFL eventually judge the season by that vote or not?
The world is waiting!