Arsenal secured the FA Cup trophy for a record 14 times after seeing out their London neighbours Chelsea at Wembley.

Chelsea started brightly as Mason Mount tested Emiliano Martinez in the opening stage of the game with a long drive from outside the bus but the Argentine keeper was equal to the task. Frank Lampard’s men took the lead minutes later through Christian Pulisic as he became the first American to score in the FA Cup final after a neat combination with Oliver Giroud.

Arsenal were back on the level terms on the 28th minutes after Aubameyang converted a spot kick after being brought down by Cesaer Azpilicueta with first half ending by 1 – 1 score line. Chelsea lost captain Cesar Azpilicueta and Pulisic to hamstring injuries either side of the interval and fell behind on 67 minutes when Aubameyang lifted a stunning second over Willy Caballero.

Chelsea was reduced to 10 men moments after conceeding the second goal after Kovacic was shown a second yellow card after a foul on Granit Xhaka. Arsenal took advantage of their numerical advantage to see out the game for their first trophy in Three years.

Arsenal have won the FA Cup for a record 14th times Two more than Manchester United (12) while also becoming the first club to beat a specific opponent(Chelsea) in as many as three finals in the competition. Mikel Arteta became the first person to both captain and manage Arsenal to victory in an FA Cup final. Arsenal has also won each of their last seven FA Cup final appearances since 2002 and no team has had a longer run of successive final triumphs in the competition history.

Mikel Arteta have also managed to win his first managerial trophy just eight months in to his first job.

Congratulations to Arsenal and Mikel Arteta!