The fourth edition of the Asiwajuniwa Cycling Competition organized by Bright Future Cycling Club in collaboration with the Oyo State Sports Council and supported by Oyo State Cycling coaches came to the forefront over the weekend and ended on Sunday.

The two-day event which was held in Ibadan, capital of Oyo state featured cyclists from Kwara, Ogun, Osun, Lagos, Delta and Oyo state with Oyo sate dominating proceedings.

Also Read:

The grand finale had the presence of the Oyo State Commissioner for Youths and Sports, Honourable Oluwaseun Fakorede who was ably represented by the Director of Sports, Ministry of Youths and Sports, Oyo State, Mrs Adegoke Adebisi, General Manager of the Oyo State Sports Council, Mr Gboyega Makinde, Oyo State Cycling Association Chairman, Engineer Ndubuisu Okorie amongst other officials of the Oyo State Sports Council.

The event had various categories ranging from U-12 to professional level. Medals and cash prizes were presented to the winners. 

Read More:

Azeez Mutiu from Delta state won the male professional 50km race while Oyo state’s Durogbade Adejoke won the female professional 40km race.

Results of some of the events

Team Time Trial – 2km

First – Kwara state cycling team

Second – Bright Future cycling club (Oyo State)

Third – Osun state cycling team

U-10 Male Category

Arogundade Mujeeb (Bright Future) – First 

Ogunrinde Oladele (Ogun) – 2nd

Akinola Destiny (Oyo) – 3rd 

U-15 Female Intermediate

Ayinla Adam – First

Ogunrinde Olawunmi – Second 

Arogundade Aisha – Third

Female Professional

Durogbade Adejoke (Oyo) – First

Tawa Yekeen (Oyo) – Second

Yemisi Alabi (Bright Future) – Third

 U-15 Male Intermediate

Adams Ayinla (Kwara) – First

Basit Biyi (Bright Future) – Second

Male Professional

Mutiu Azeez (Delta) – Winner