The Nigeria male basketball team has begin preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics Basketball event as Golden State Warriors assistant coach and D’Tigers of Nigeria head coach Mike Brown invited 49 players to the camp in California, USA.

Denver Nuggets man Monte Morris leads the list of invited NBA players for the tournament, Miye Oni of Utah Jazz is also part of the team, 2019 NBA champion with Toronto Raptors, OG Anunoby and former GSW player Festus Ezeli should also join up in California. 2020 draft class, Precious Achiuwa who plays with Miami Heats and Udoka Azubuike of Utah Jazz will be hoping to represent thier country for the first time, alongside Jahlil Okafor of Detroit Pistons.

Josh Okogie (Minnesota Timberwolves) Gabe Vincent (Miami Heat), Al-farouq Aminu (Chicago Bulls), Jordan Nwora (Milwaukee Bucks, completes NBA players who have been with the team for some time, and should all be in camp for training.

The European legion comprises Obi Emegano (Fuenlabrada, Spain), Ike Iroegbu (Elan Chalon, France), Michael Oguine (BC Souffelweyersheim, France), Zaid Hearst (Alba Fehervar, Hungary), Ike Nwamu (Samara, Russia) and Michael Gbinije (BC Nevèżíe, Lithuania).

Other European stars invited are Talib Zanna (Hapoel Tel-Aviv, Israel), Emmanuel Omogbo (Vellaznimi, Kosovo), Christian Mekowulu (Treviso, Italy), Tonye Jekiri (Baskonia, Spain), Abdul-Malik Abu (Fethiye, Turkey), Chima Moneke (Orleans, France), Amanze Egekeze (Oberhoffen, France

Calab Agada (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), TK Edogi (St. Chamond, France), Joshua Ajayi (Hermine Nantes, France), Keith Omoerah (Poitiers, France) and Michael Eric who recently helped CSKA Moscow of Russia to the European Basketball League.

Others who will be fighting for a chance to represent their fatherland at the games include long sought after NBA champion, Festus Ezeli, UC Iroegbu, Ike Ndugba (2021 NBA draft prospect), Mike Okauru (UNC- Wilmington).

Ben Uzoh (Rivers Hoopers), Michael Adewunmi (UT-Rio Grand Valley), Aminu Mohammed (Georgetown University), Manny Obaseki (Texas A&M University), Elijah Olaniyi (Stony Brook University) and Chibuzo Agbo (Texas Tech University).

Gideon George (Brigham Young University), Makenzie Mgbako (Gill St. Bernard School), Warith Alatishe (Oregon State University), Efe Abogidi (Washington State University), Stephen Domingo (Lakeland Magic), Emeka Okafor, Clifford Omoruyi (Rutger University)

Ekpe Udoh (Beijing RF, China) complete the 49-man list. Players have started arriving since Sunday, 20th of June for the first phase of the camping exercise.

Nigeria is in group B alongside Australia and winners of the Olympic Qualifying Tournament in Serbia and Croatia between 29th of June to 4th of July 2021.