Veteran Nigerian Basketball player Ekene Ibekwe has passed an important message to players that will feature in the new Nigeria Premier Basketball League season.

The new season was billed to start, on 8th of September. Ahead of the start, former Chalons-Reims player has told players not to rely on the management, as they are all about the business at the end of the day.

Ibekwe who won the French league championship and the NBL championship in 2017 and 2015 respectively, adviced players to be inquisitive.

“To all the hoopers Getting ready for their
Seasons to start good Luck this year. My advice From a vet to the younger Guys is don’t let these Agents or gms take Advantage of you. Ask Questions for anything You aren’t unsure of Because 9 times out of 10 They don’t really give af About you. It’s all Business at the end of They day and they all look Out for their own Interests.

Why not looOut for yours? Stay on top Of your business and Don’t lean too much on Any of them because they Will only do things where
They see fit for Themselves. Take it from Someone who has been Through it all. Reach out And ask questions. “

Ekene Ibekwe has had a storied career as a Basketball player, featuring for over 24 Basketball teams as a professional.

Ibekwe has been a member of the senior men’s Nigerian national basketball team. He played at the 2006 FIBA World Championship, where he was one of the team’s leaders in points and rebounds. He also played at the 2012 and 2016 Summer Olympics.

Update on Nigeria Premier Basketball League:

Teams has been splitted to the Atlantic and Savannah conference, with the start date scheduled for September 7th to 15th.

11 teams make up the Atlantic conference, Rivers Hoopers, Kwara Falcons, Raptors, Police Batons, Ondo Raiders, Islanders, Coal City, Impressions, Camac, Invaders and Lagos Warriors.

In the Savannah Conference we have 10 teams, Niger Potters, Defenders, Reformers, Benue Braves, Nigerian Army, Gomb Bulls, Kano Pillars, City Chiefs, Pleatue Peaks and Bauchi nets.

With 11 teams in the Atlantic conference and 10 from the Savannah conference, Four will qualify from each of the conferences for the final 8 which will hold from September 26th – Oct 2, 2021.