The third edition of the annual NFF-Aiteo Football Awards took the City of Lagos by storm on Monday night, with the country’s First Lady, Dr (Mrs) Aisha Buhari, as well as four-time African Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala, home-based professional Gift Monday and the Super Falcons’ class of 1999 the star attraction at the glamour event held t the Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island.

Super Falcons Coach of class ’99, Ismaila Mabo, who led the team to USA ’99 FIFA Women’s World Cup, revealed on Monday that he was left out by organisers of the Third Aiteo-NFF Football Awards, where some of the players were honoured in Lagos.

“I did not get any invitation from anybody and I did not get any phone call from anyone,” Mabo said. “I am in Jos with my family. Maybe, they thought I am dead,” he told media.

“It is a big shock to me that the NFF would treat me this way, but it is not the end of the world. My only challenge to them (organisers of this award and the NFF) is to surpass my USA ’99 World Cup record. For now, I remain Nigeria’s best coach ever.”- he added.

The Super Falcons to USA ’99, led by Coach Mabo and captained by Florence Omagbemi, made history by getting to the quarterfinal of the World Cup, the best ever performance by Nigeria’s senior national team (male and female).

According to the Guardian newspaper, the President of NFF and FIFA Council Member, Amaju Pinnick was contacted to shed more light on Coach Mabo’s claim and he said: “I am not the one that compiled the list of those to be invited for the award. I don’t know anything about it.”


Best Performance of the Year (Men; Nigeria-based): Silas Nwankwo/Charles Atshimene

Best Performance of the Year (Men; Overseas-based): Paul Onuachu

Best Performance of the Year (Women; Nigeria-based): Gift Monday

Best Performance of the Year (Women; Overseas-based): Asisat Oshoala

Club of the Year (Men): Akwa United FC

Club of the Year (Women): Rivers Angels FC

Coach of the Year (Men): Kennedy Boboye

Coach of the Year (Women): Moses Adukwu

Referee of the Year (Men): Joseph Ogabor

Referee of the Year (Women): Patience Ndidi Madu

Memorable Performance of the Year: Bayelsa United FC

Host State of the Year: Lagos State

Best Supporter of Women’s Football: Dr (Mrs) Aisha Buhari

Commitment to Women’s Football Excellence: Edo State

Inspirational Award: Ahmed Musa

Innovation Award: NFFTV/NPFLTV

Special Recognition Award: Super Falcons Class of 1999

Lifetime Achievement Award: Princess Bola Ngozi Jegede

Post-humous Award: Prince Larry Eze/ Ms Henrietta Ukaigwe