After a year hiatus due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic across global domestic football, the world’s most prestigious individual football award will make a return later this year.

This afternoon, 30 players has been shortlisted as nominees for the award.

A total of 30 players have been nominated, including multiple members of the Italian national team which secured victory in the Men’s UEFA Euros last summer.

Perennial winners Lionel Messi (six-time winner) and Cristiano Ronaldo (five-time winner) are getting a shot at it once more this year after dominating the Ballon D’Or for the past twelve years.

Champions League winners Chelsea have a total of about five players on the list with Europa League winners Villarreal CF having just one nominee in the person of Gerard Moreno.

The full list below:
Caesar Azpliqueta – Chelsea/Spain
Nicolo Barella – Inter Milan/Italy
Karim Benzema – Real Madrid/France
Leonardo Bonucci – Juventus/Italy
Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City/Belgium
Giorgio Chiellini – Juventus/Italy
Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United/Juventus/Portugal
Ruben Dias – Manchester City/Portugal
Gianluigi Donnarumma – PSG/Milan/Italy
Bruno Fernandes – Manchester United/Portugal
Phil Foden – Manchester City/England
Erling Haaland – Borussia Dortmound/Norway
Jorginho – Chelsea/Italy
Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspurs/England
N’golo Kante – Chelsea/France
Simon Kjaer – Milan/Denmark
Robert Lewandowski – FC Bayern Munich/Poland
Romelu Lukaku – Chelsea/Inter Milan/Belgium
Riyad Mahrez – Manchester City/Algeria
Lautaro Martinez – Inter Milan/Argentina
Kylian Mbappe – PSG/France
Lionel Messi – FC Barcelona/PSG/Argentina
Luka Modric – Real Madrid CF/Croatia
Gerard Moreno – Villarreal CF/Spain
Mason Mount – Chelsea FC/England
Neymar Jnr – PSG/Brazil
Mohamed Salah – Liverpool/Egypt
Raheem Sterling – Manchester City/England
Luis Suarez – Athletico De Madrid/Uruguay