The much awaited list of players to represent Nigeria at Afcon’21 in Cameroon has finally been released.

The 28-man squad was named on Saturday afternoon with inclusions of some fringe players such as Kelechi Nwakali, Olisah Ndah and Taiwo Awoniyi.

It was said earlier in our previous article that the squad list had to be released soon as time may be running for the Eagles but all fears are being allayed as it comes two weeks before the start of the tourney.

However, a host of names are missing from the squad, while some have obvious reasons for missing out? others are absent for unknown reasons.

Included in the list is Rangers’ pair of Leon Balogun and Joe Aribo, FC Porto’s Zaidu Sanusi, Brentford’s Frank Onyeka, Leicester City’s pair of Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Odion Ighalo of Al Shabab, Emmanuel Dennis of Watford, Ahmed Musa of Fatih Karagumruk, Victor Osimhen and Alex Iwobi of Everton are also called upon.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).

Still yet to be clear is the manager to take Eagles to Cameroon, although Austin Eguavoen has been named as the interim manager at the moment after he was appointed to replace Gernot Rhor who was axed earlier this month, a foreign coach if named before January 9 could lead Eagles’ charge according to NFF president Amaju Pinnick.

Nigeria will being their quest for their 4th Afcon title when they take on the Pharaohs of Egypt January 11, two days after the tournament kicks off.