Ahead of the 2023 AFCON Qualifiers games against Sierria Leone and São Tomé and Principe, Peseiro and NFF have invited 27 players to camp.

Two NPFL players, Sani Faisal and Adewale Adeyinka, retains their position in the squad after an exciting display at the friendly games in the USA.

Innocent Bonke is also in the squad despite picking up an injury in the first half of the friendly against Mexico and missing the second friendly match against Ecuador.

Super Eagles captain, Ahmed Musa also returns to the squad with his wealth of experience.

2021/22 Seria À player of the year, Victor Osimhen has also been recalled to the squad after Nigeria missed him in burying the chances against Ecuador and Mexico.

Other players making a return to the squad are Israeli –based goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Zaidu Sanusi, Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Frank Onyeka, and forwards , Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman and Sadiq Umar.

However, the most prominent ommissions are Leicester city striker, Kelechi Ihenacho, Belgium-based defender, Valentine Ozornwafor, Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, newly married Paul Onuachu and Union Berlin striker Taiwo Awoniyi who had an excellent season in Germany scoring 20 times last season.

Full Squad List

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus), Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy);William Ekong (watrora FC, England); Abdullani Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Sani Faisal (Katsina United);Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Innocent Bonke (FC Lorient, France); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France): Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, The Netherlands); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford, England).

Super Eagles will play Sierria Leone at the National Sadium, Abuja on Thursday June 9 before travelling to São Tomé and Principe for their encounter on Monday, June 13.