Super Eagles held their first training session for the AFCON qualifying games against Sierria Leone and São Tome and Principe on Sunday evening.

24 out of 27 invited players were present at the training yesterday with head coach, Jose Peseiro taking full charge and addressing the players.

However, the preparation for these games started in the US when Nigeria lost to Mexico and Ecuador. Super Eagles will be looking to build on their good second half performances in the international friendly and reciprocate them in the full 90 minutes of these qualifying games to secure their victory.

The three players that were not available for the training yesterday are Rangers duo, Calvin Bassey and Joe Aribo and Omonia defender, Shehu Abdullahi who was in a meeting with the Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambual.

Head Coach, Jose Peseiro

During breakfast and lunch period, Jose Peseiro was able to meet other players who didn’t travel with the squad to the US including Captain, Ahmed Musa, Israeli –based goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Zaidu Sanusi, Leon Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Frank Onyeka, and forwards , Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman, Victor Osimhen and Sadiq Umar.

List of invited players

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus), Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy);William Ekong (watrora FC, England); Abdullani Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Sani Faisal (Katsina United);Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Innocent Bonke (FC Lorient, France); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France): Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, The Netherlands); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford, England).

Super Eagles will play Sierria Leone at the National Sadium, Abuja on Thursday June 9 before travelling to São Tomé and Principe for their encounter on Monday, June 13.