Bayana Bayana of South Africa defeated the Atlas Lioness of Morocco to win their first ever WAFCON title in their fifth final attempt.

Second-half brace from Hildah Magaia put Bayana Bayana at a touching distance of the trophy with strikes in 63rd and 71st minutes.

With ten minutes left to play, Rosella Ayane scored from a beautiful passage of counter-attacking play to give the host nation hope.

However, the resilient Bayana Bayana were able to hold their ground and see off the game to clinch the trophy 2-1 at the Prince Moulay Abdallah Stadium in Rabat, Morocco.

Both nations were looking for their historic first WAFCON title, to join an exclusive list of winners that includes only Nigeria (nine times) and Equatorial Guinea (twice).

South Africa had the first chance of the game but Magaia saw their chance cleared off the line by Hanane Ait El Haj.

There were a couple of chances from both teams before the hour mark with Morocco trying to catch South Africa on the break and the Bayana Bayana defence standing strong.

Just after the hour mark, Seoposenwe beautifully twisted two defenders before setting up Magaia to tap the ball into the net and break the deadlock.

Eight minutes later, a carefully weighted cross from Karabo Dhlamini to Magaia was finished by the South Korean-based attacker to give South Africa a two-goal lead.

Moroccans tried to fight their way back when Ayane tapped the ball into the net but this was too little too late for the Atlas Lioness as they couldn’t find their equalizer.

However, both teams have automatically qualified for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand alongside Nigeria and Zambia.