Real Madrid forward Karim Benzema has won the France Football most prestigious award Ballon D’Or.

The 34-year-old won the award after a very remarkable footballing year, leading his team to win the UEFA Champions League with a lot of important goals.

He becomes the first french man to win the award since Zidane in 1998.

Teammate, Thibaut Courtois also won the Yaschine Trophy for the best goalkeeper, beating Allisson, Ederdon and Mendy to it.

African Champion, Sadio Mane also won the first ever Socrates Award for his humanitarian works and was also ranked second in the Ballon D’Or.

La Liga dominated the female Ballon D’Or also with Asisat Oshoala’s teammate and Spanish forward Alexia Putellas winning the Women’s Ballon D’Or award.

Another La Liga star Gavi won the Kopa Trophy for the Best Young Player in the world, closely followed by Real Madrid’s Cammavinga, Bayern’s Jamal Musiala, BVB’s Jude Bellingham and PSG’s Nuno Mendez.

Barcelona star, Robert Lewandowski also won the Gerd Muller award for the best striker in the world.

However, Manchester City surprisingly won the team of the year ahead of Champions League winner and runners up Real Madrid and Liverpool respectively.