After a two-year break due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the FIBA Africa Champions Cup for Women makes a return in 2022.

In 2019, Ferroviario de Maputo edged former champions Inter Clube 91-90 in overtime in Cairo to retain their title.

10 teams will be participating in this year’s edition scheduled to hold from December 9- 17 at the Eduardo Mondlane University Gym in Maputo, Mozambique.

The 10 teams are as follows Costa do Sol (Mozambique), Ferroviario de Maputo (Mozambique), ASC Ville Dakar (Senegal), Energie BBC (Benin), Overdose Up Station (Cameroon), CNSS (DR Congo), Alexandria Sporting Club (Egypt), Kenya Ports Authority (Kenya), Interclube (Angola), and Armee Patriotique du Rwanda (Rwanda).

The teams have been divided into two groups of five teams each and the games will be played in a round robin format.

In Group A, five-time champions Interclube (Angola) have been drawn with host Costa do Sol, CNSS (DR Congo), KPA (Kenya) and Energie BBC (Benin).

While back to back champions Ferroviario de Maputo (Mozambique) will play ARP (Rwanda), AS Ville de Dakar (Senegal), Sporting Club Alexandria (Egypt) and Overdose Up Station (Cameroon) in Group B.

The top four teams from each group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals, with Group A crossing Group B (A1-B4; A2-B3; A3-B2; A4-B1).

The second phase of the tournament will be played in a knockout format from the Quarter-finals to the Finals.

In Friday’s fixture, Interclube will take on KPA at 12pm WAT, Ferroviario de Maputo will be up against APR Women at 2:30pm while at 5pm Costa Do Sol will face C.N.S.S.