On the evening of Thursday, May 4th, the Riverside Stadium was buzzing with excitement as Middlesbrough Football Club hosted their 2022/23 Player of the Year awards ceremony, sponsored by Group Industrial UK. Boro’s first team players, coaching staff, and guests gathered to celebrate the achievements of the club’s standout performers throughout the season.

The most notable winner of the night was Chuba Akpom, who clinched both the Player of the Year award, voted for by fans, and the Players’ Player of the Year award. The striker has had a remarkable season, scoring more than 20 league goals, a feat not accomplished by a Boro player since the 1989/90 season. With 29 goals in all competitions, Akpom could easily close out the campaign with over 30 goals. He was also the scorer of Boro’s 1,000th goal at the Riverside Stadium and was named the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year.

Along with Akpom’s impressive performances, other Boro players were recognized for their contributions to the club. Hayden Hackney, who had a breakthrough campaign, won the Young Player of the Year award, sponsored by Stockton Machine Company. Meanwhile, Riley McGree’s outstanding scissor kick goal against Norwich City won him the Goal of the Season award, sponsored by Cornerstone Business Solutions.

The Moment of the Season award, sponsored by Durham Animal Feeds, was given to the appointment of Michael Carrick as Boro’s head coach. This recognition highlights the impact that Carrick has had on the team since taking over in December 2022.

In addition, goalkeeper Liam Roberts was recognized for his contribution off the field as Player in the Community, sponsored by Close Protection Security. Roberts has been involved in several initiatives aimed at supporting the local community and promoting social responsibility.

Finally, Matt Crooks was awarded the PFA Community Champion for his efforts in supporting various community initiatives, including the MFC Foundation and local food banks.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Player of the Year, sponsored by Group Industrial UK: Chuba Akpom
  • Players’ Player of the Year, sponsored by Host & Stay: Chuba Akpom
  • Young Player of the Year, sponsored by Stockton Machine Company: Hayden Hackney
  • Moment of the Season, sponsored by Durham Animal Feeds: Appointment of Michael Carrick
  • Goal of the Season, sponsored by Cornerstone Business Solutions: Riley McGree versus Norwich City
  • Player in the Community, sponsored by Close Protection Security: Liam Roberts
  • PFA Community Champion: Matt Crooks

The awards ceremony was a fitting tribute to the outstanding performances of Boro’s players and staff, and a celebration of the club’s commitment to community engagement.